Does your diocese invest in fossil fuels?

Since we took action at St Paul’s Cathedral on Sunday, people have been asking us which Church of England dioceses still have investments in fossil fuels. Here’s a summary.

For practical information on asking your church or diocese to divest visit the Bright Now website.

Three dioceses have announced their complete divestment from fossil fuels:

  • Bristol
  • Oxford
  • Sodor and Man
  • Truro – made a divestment announcement on 16th Sept 2021
  • Norwich – made a divestement announcement on 6th November 2021

There are 18 dioceses which currently don’t invest in fossil fuels, but they’ve not ruled out the possibility of reinvesting in the future. They are:

  • Canterbury
  • Durham
  • Blackburn
  • Carlisle
  • Chester
  • Coventry
  • Derby
  • Europe
  • Exeter
  • Gloucester
  • Leeds
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester
  • Newcastle
  • Portsmouth
  • Salisbury – made a divestment decision in Sept 2021 but have not yet committed to not reinvest in fossil fuels
  • St Edmundsbury & Ipswich
  • Sheffield
  • Worcester

There are 21 dioceses currently investing in fossil fuels:

  • York
  • London
  • Winchester
  • Bath & Wells
  • Birmingham
  • Chelmsford
  • Chichester
  • Ely
  • Guildford
  • Hereford
  • Leicester
  • Lichfield
  • Lincoln
  • Norwich
  • Peterborough
  • Rochester
  • St Albans
  • Southwark
  • Southwell and Nottingham

Take action with Christian Climate Action

Pray with us

Support us financially

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s